Eddie Would’ve Approved

“Every child is born an artist. The problems begin when they grow up.” – Picasso

IMG_1718I’m always surprised to find out the most incredible things about people I’ve known after they are gone.

Today we put to rest our patriarch, Uncle Eddie. From childhood I never had a thought to call this gregarious Irishman sporting a wide smile and Phillies cap Ed or Edward–his demeanor screamed Eddie. During a proper sendoff to the next life at one of Uncle Eddie’s favorite spots, I learned that he served as an intelligence officer in Germany during WW II, but that didn’t impress me as much as the eyeopening art he created. Eddie was an avid painter.IMG_1721

When I look back on the times we spent together, it always seemed that Eddie never lost the child inside. What a wonderful way to live.

 

 

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Eddie Would’ve Approved

  1. Audrey Lewis says:

    I love your words about my dad. He would be thrilled that you shared his art with the world. Thank you for this beautiful tribute. He absolutely would smile! Audrey

    Like

  2. Maureen Lewis says:

    Thank you Jim. What a nice tribute to my dad. He would definitely approve.

    Like

  3. LB says:

    Eddie did indeed have talent. That painting is wonderful.
    Glad you have so many great memories of him.

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    Thank you…an ”anonymous reader”

    Like

Comments are closed.