62

“What I look forward to is continued immaturity followed by death.” –Dave Barry

Aging - Finish Line

         62

Paul wrote When I’m 64 in ‘58

he was 16, I still had all my hair

and teeth; no tattoos,

or children, certainly no grandchildren.

*

I had yet to inhale the scent of Jamaican Sumatra,

experience a hoppy IPA glide down my parched throat,

be thrown into a paddy wagon that smelled of warm urine

or cross the blue and yellow finish line on Boylston Street.

*

I hadn’t tasted chilled runoff from Mount Baldy,

confused my grandson Jesse with Joey.

I didn’t know chocolate was an aphrodisiac,

didn’t know what an aphrodisiac was.

*

Today Paul plays When I’m 64 at 74,

so does Ringo at 76;

Mick still sings Satisfaction at 72

though he swore he wouldn’t after he turned 45.

*

Which tells me at 62 not to miss one moment

not a single breath

so that the day you sit on a ridge

10,000 feet in the crisp mountain air

*

and watch the birth of your children,

then walk arm-in-arm up the aisle with your baby girl,

and laugh at little Lucy pull up her top and point at her belly button

the view is exquisite.

~

          jim brennan

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in poetry, Poetry, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 62

  1. drmikebda says:

    What a great piece. Thank you so much for sharing Uncle Mike

    Like

  2. Monk says:

    Jim, this poem nailed it. I’ve probably read this 7-8 times and it becomes more meaningful with each reading. Thanks

    Like

  3. chrisbauer1 says:

    Yeah, I’m digging it, Jim. Your words, your experiences, my experiences as well, even at our ripe old ages. Mine 65, achieved on Flag Day. Keep at it, my friend. The poetry, the prose, and all the living. Especially the living.

    Like

  4. Patrick says:

    Wonderful post Jim!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

