Bring That Beat Back

It’s Saturday night in July and I’m sitting on a lawn with a little blonde in a flowered dress. Gary Clark Jr’s guitar is whaling Ain’t Messin’ Round and Brittany Howard is killing it singing Gimme All Your Love. I close my eyes thinking I’m in a field on Max Yagur’s farm in 1969, but I’m on a hill on the Camden, NJ waterfront in 2016 at the XPN Music Festival.

As I listened and reminisced a haiku wrote itself:

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.37.02 AM                 Gary Clark JrScreen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.38.40 AM

    is Jimi, the way Brittany

          Howard is Janis
Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.39.23 AMScreen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.40.49 AM

 

 

 

 

Comparisons can be lazy, an easy way out of describing the brilliance of an artist. But Woodstock was my time–my prime–and I remember hearing Jimi’s Purple Haze and Janis’s Summertime, and I felt the same goosebumps in Camden in July as I did in ’69.

IMG_0224

Me and a little blonde in a flowered dress.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bring That Beat Back

  1. Sophie33 says:

    Very cool written! 🙂

    Like

  2. So joyful and lovely! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

