Hallelujah

If it be your will / That I speak no more /And my voice be still / As it was before
I will speak no more / I shall abide until / I am spoken for / If it be your will
   Leonard Cohen, from If It Be Your Will

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-7-25-26-am

Leonard Cohen: September 21, 1934 – November 7, 2016

Leonard Cohen, Poet: always honest; always authentic; always stunning.

 

From Cohen’s poem:

Titles

I had the title Poet
and maybe I was one
for a while
Also the title Singer
was kindly accorded me
even though
I could barely carry a tune
For many years
I was known as a Monk
I shaved my head and wore robes
and got up very early
I hated everyone
and no one found me out
My reputation
as a Ladies’ Man was a joke
It caused me to laugh bitterly
through the ten thousand nights
I spent alone
From a third-storey window
above the Parc du Portugal
I’ve watched the snow
come down all day

 

Leonard Cohen, singer/songwriter: magical lyrics of a poet.

from his song:

Everybody Knows

Everybody knows that the dice are loaded
Everybody rolls with their fingers crossed
Everybody knows the war is over
Everybody knows the good guys lost
Everybody knows the fight was fixed
The poor stay poor, the rich get rich
That’s how it goes
Everybody knows

 

Leonard Cohen, gone too soon at eighty-two, will live forever,

Hallelujah!

 

Leonard Cohen On Poetry, Music and Why He Left The Zen Monastery.

https://www.npr.org/player/embed/102692227/102700888

 

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in poetry, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hallelujah

  1. Sophie33 says:

    I didn’t know that he died. I didn’t know much about hime but knew a few classic songs of him that gave me the goesbumps with his music & lyrics. real emotion music for me. A great tribute to hime! xx

    Like

  2. An excellent tribute to such a deeply soulful person. Thank youso much for the NPR interview that you included. So interesting. 🍁

    Like

Leave a Reply

