Where Have All The Hikers Gone?

Thru-hikers give way to hunters
naked trees replace fall colors

img_4709

the narrow trails widen
December on the AT
img_3112
trunks fill the forrest

IMG_3115.JPG

then open to
crisp panorama

img_3122

icy toes & oatmeal
on a 27 degree sunrise
img_3128

which way shall I go?

img_3126

down the mountain
into the gap

img_3132

and across the Lehigh

img_3135

to Kittatinny Ridge

img_3139

img_3142

back up the trail

img_3144

face south
from the ridge

img_3145

solid colorsimg_3148

face north

img_3153

and back into the woods

img_3157

past Smith Gap

img_3158

with a Golden trooper

img_3164
following the White Blaze.

Done for the season

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, poetry, Poetry, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Where Have All The Hikers Gone?

  1. Ben Hageman says:

    Still working on the list. This is my first blog so thought I’d write about something I love.

    Like

  2. Nice to see these photos of the AT. My wife was raised in Pennsylvania but I haven’t spent much time there and never had the chance to do any hiking there. We live in the Pacific NW a few miles from The Bridge of the Gods where the Pacific Crest Trail meets the Columbia River. A different kind of beauty but neither more or less than what you have there. Best wishes for a happy 2017.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      I’d love to do some hiking on the PCT. I’ve driven the PCH from LA to SF and hiked at Big Sur, and been told the north coastal route to Seattle is even prettier. My daughter has been to the The Gorge on the Columbia River in WA and I just spent a week at Mount Rainier. I love the Pacific NW. You are a lucky man. Good health and happiness to you in 2017 as well, Charlie.

      Like

  3. byJenks says:

    I too hike, and the AT runs through my area. I often do a short hike before dawn (before work) and watch the sunrise over the Appalachian landscape, with my Golden Retriever by my side. Yesterday, my hike was in 8 degree weather and snow. Your post brought a smile.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      There’s nothing more beautiful than a sunrise from the ridge, and oh, the Golden Retriever! My 11 year old pup treks with me on each excursion through the woods, love chasing critters and sleeping under the stars. You brought a smile to me as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sophie33 says:

    What a wonderful hike,…cool views & amazing photos!
    I wished that I could join me! 🙂 It would be my pleasure! 🙂 Waw!

    Like

  5. Wonderful photos. I have yet to hike that section.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      My buddy Ed and I planned to finish Pennsylvania this year, and missed by two segments. This short hike at Lehighton over the Lehigh River was one. In the spring we’ll finish PA with a trek from Duncannon to the Maryland state border. Keep running, MaryLou

      Like

Leave a Reply

